Monday, October 11, 2010

Lil Wayne "I'm Not a Human Being"

Lil Wayne won’t let the bars of Riker’s Island stop his flow as he releases his EP “I’m Not a Human Being” and his Young Money camp is all in to hold him down with appearances from each member of the Young Money family. Whenever you mention Lil Wayne there is a clear divide between those who support him fanatically and those who refuse to accept him as a heavyweight talent, but no one can deny he has one of the biggest followings in Hip-Hop. Prepare to hear a lot of this material in the clubs, on some radio stations, and definitely bangin’ down the block out of a lot of trunks. The lead track “Gonorrhea” is a solid launch into the EP. The production is hot with a synth bouncing off the 808 kicks and a drum fill that harkens back to Run-DMC. Lil Wayne delivers a string of comical punch lines as always and the combination of Drake and Wayne are always heavy play favorites. “With You” has a soulful loop running throughout the song that is a nice compliment to the laid back vibe of the entire song. When Drake comes in singing it pushes this song to a top pick. The title track has some serious big beat production with a grip of samples chopped up to take you on a ride. Wayne’s flow and cadence in “I’m Not a Human Being” is amazingly similar to Schooly D so it fits perfect with the samples chopped into the song. “I’m Single” is not musically phenomenal, but I have to admit I was loving the hook and can definitely see this song getting a lot of spins for the subject matter alone. The most notable thing with “What’s Wrong With Them” is that Nicki Minaj’s role is a singing part with not one rap verse – and she’s hot on the hooks. Jay Sean’s appearances on the hooks of “That Ain’t Me” are equally impressive. Even though I know this EP will be downloaded at warp speed with massive numbers, I can’t recommend it as a top 10 “Must Download” EP. My top picks from the album are “Gonorrhea” and the title track “I Am Not a Human Being”. Something of note is the length of the tracks with most exceeding 4 minutes; normally found on R&B albums but rarely accepted for rap songs.

1. Gonorrhea feat. Drake
2. Hold Up feat. T-Streets
3. With You feat. Drake
4. I Am Not a Human Being
5. I’m Single feat. Drake
6. What’s Wrong With Them feat. Nicki Minaj
7. Right Above It feat. Drake
8. Popular feat. Lil Twist
9. That Ain’t Me feat. Jay Sean
10. Bill Gates
11. YM Banger feat. Jae Millz, Gudda Gudda, and Tyga
12. YM Salute feat. Lil Twist, Lil Chuckee, Gudda Gudda, Jae Millz, and Nicki Minaj

No comments:

Post a Comment